Date: 15th January 2018 at 7:41pm
Written by:

Chelsea are represented in the latest Premier League team of the week that has been selected by BBC pundit Garth Crooks.

Actually Garth is now down as a ‘Football Analyst’ these days, a posh term for a pundit then!

The performance by Andreas Christensen in the scoreless draw with Leicester City at the weekend at Stamford Bridge was enough to earn them a place in the side alongside the other, in the opinion of the former Spurs striker anyway, most impressive performers in the topflight over the latest weekend.

I think we’ll already know ourselves, and not just based on the latest performance, why Crooks, we’ll also not argue with it, selected Christensen as part of his team but explaining his choice he told the BBC.

‘Andreas Christensen came on for Gary Cahill at a time when the Blues were being run ragged by a Leicester side who seem to have found their mojo again under Claude Puel. He adjusted brilliantly to the tempo of the game and was incredibly astute not to impede Riyad Mahrez in the box. The Algerian international, on the other hand, tried to deceive referee Mike Jones by going to ground having received no contact from Christensen at all. In fact it was Mahrez who used his leg to make contact with Christensen. Referee Jones was, quite rightly, having none of it, while Christensen told Mahrez what he thought of his opponent’s antics in no uncertain terms. I can understand a player going to ground having received contact or even exaggerating the incident in order to try and bring it to the referee’s attention. Goodness knows I’ve done it myself, but it is unforgivable to dive when no contact has been made at all. In fact it is simply cheating and it’s about time his manager told him so.’

It’s always good to see the club represented in this way, and well played to Christensen for his recognition, but the most important thing about the weekend was of course the point.

Full Team:

Wayne Hennessey (Crystal Palace), Andreas Christensen (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), Jonny Evans (West Bromwich Albion), Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Liverpool), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), Manuel Lanzini (West Ham), Marko Arnautovic (West Ham), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Sadio Mane (Liverpool)