Date: 10th November 2017 at 5:02pm
Written by:

A recent front-page poll asked a question that perhaps wasn`t worded as well as it could be.

I asked you to decide which of four title winning campaigns you thought had the best team.

The seasons I selected were:

? 2004 / 2005
? 2005 / 2006
? 2009 / 2010


? 2016 / 2017

What I should have made clear were that they were my four favourite title winning campaigns and didn`t include the seasons that Ted Drake guided Chelsea to a top-flight title in 1954 / 1955 and Jose Mourinho in his second tenure with the club in the 2014 / 2015 season, apologies offered.

But, returning to the poll, it seems that of my four favourite title winning seasons, 41% of you opted for last season when Antonio Conte, in his first season in charge, not only won the title but did so by winning a record 30 out of the 38 Premier League games.

In second place, with 33% of the vote, came the 2009 / 2010 season when Carlo Ancelotti`s thrilling side not only won the title in spectacular style but also won the FA Cup.

In third place, of my favourite four title wins, with 14% of the votes cast, was the 2004 / 2005 season when Jose Mourinho strode into town, declared himself the Special One and guided Chelsea to a first top-flight title since 1955.

In fourth place was the 2005 / 2006 season, with 12% of the votes cast, when the Special One guided Chelsea to back-to-back title wins, a splendid moment.

Thank you for your participation.

Please use this opportunity to visit our current front-page poll to cast your vote.


3 Replies to “What Was Your Favourite Title Winning Season?”

Comments are closed.