Quite possibly so!
The Spaniard, we must admit, committed a bad challenge on Shane Long, in the 3-2 win away to Southampton.
Alonso went in from the side and his studs caught Long high up on his calf, leaving the striker in a crumpled heap on the pitch.
The referee, Mike Dean, missed the challenge thereby leaving it open to further investigation.
Mark Hughes certainly didn’t miss the tackle and mentioned it in his post-match interviews with both the BBC and Sky Sports.
Talking to Sky Sports, Hughes had this to say,
“I’ve seen Marcos Alonso’s tackle on Shane Long again – it’s a clear red card and clear intent to hurt Shane. It could’ve broken his leg. There were three officials within five to 10 yards so how each of them missed it is a mystery to me.”
And to the BBC;
“Mike Dean was five yards away, his assistant was seven yards away and the fourth official was six yards away – how can they not see it when everyone else did?
“That tackle could’ve had significant consequences for Shane and Chelsea going down to 10 men at that point with us in the ascendancy would’ve changed the game.”
Hughes has a point, Chelsea were behind and going down to 10-men would have, as Hughes points out, ramifications.
However, when Antonio Conte was pushed on the challenge, he gave a reply as thus, to the BBC,
“I didn’t see Marcos Alonso’s challenge and after the game I don’t want to comment on the referee’s decision.”
It remains to be seen how severely those who run our game come down on Alonso.
Will it be a 1-game or a 3-game ban?