Date: 6th April 2017 at 1:49pm
Written by:

It was thought Diego Costa could face retrospective punishment from the Football Association after the Chelsea strikers apparent clash with Manchester City’s Vincent Kompany on Wednesday?

However, despite Costa seemingly kicking out at Man City’s captain at Stamford Bridge Sky Sports says there ISN’T going to be any further action taken.

As the referee, Mike Dean, had seen the incident at the time, recorded it in his post-match report but decided not to take action there wouldn’t be any retrospective consequences for Costa – had this been the case he could have sat out part of the Blues’ run-in.

When questioned about the incident after the game both Chelsea boss Antonio Conte, along with Man City’s Pep Guardiola, said they hadn’t seen Costa’s studs make contact with the Belgium international.

Conte said: ‘I didn’t see it, but during the game it’s very difficult. Yes, you see this kind of contact but it’s impossible to tell, to judge this kind of contact.’

Are Chelsea and Costa fortunate here, or should we see this as the right outcome?

Join The Vital Debate

Merlin is on his hols so if anyone has something to share in the meantime – this gives a genuine Chelsea point of view from a Chelsea fan – feel free to fire an email through clicking on the link below.

Please include your username so I can put that to it though.


Bloggers


 
Click for the forum

3 Replies to “Retrospective Punishment? None For Costa”

  • Costa’s dry spell in front of goal is really a concerned. Perhaps his being banned could have been a blessing in disguise.

  • who cares if he gets banned?…. He’s *****.. Like Chistain said earlier the ban may be a blessing in disguise… I pray he gets banned, longtime

Comments are closed.